A Miracle Observed

On April 4 I found a nest with 3 eggs in a bush by my bathroom window.  As I watched it carefully, I discovered a mother cardinal sitting on it. She would tolerate me bringing out trash as long as I got no closer than 4 feet or so. A male cardinal that I assumed to be the dad was usually nearby whenever I went outside. 

This is only the second time I’ve had the privilege of observing a bird incubating their eggs. She sat on the eggs for two weeks. I put a stool out by the nest so that I could observe easily and get pictures. Easter Sunday was April 16 when all my grandchildren got a peek at the eggs. The day after on April 17, the eggs hatched. Three little birds, eyes closed, greeted me when I returned from caring for my older son’s boys. I watched them carefully each day and took pictures.


One was always buried deep in the nest and did not often raise his head, even if I spoke. We had a couple of colder than normal nights, but the birds seemed to be doing ok.  Then one day after caring for my grandsons, I came home to one dead baby with ants all over it. This saddened me, but I knew from my reading that I needed to get the dead bird out of the nest or the mother might reject the others. So I wrapped him in a Kleenex and buried him near the back gate where I had just planted some flowers.  The remaining two seemed to be doing well. 


One was definitely stronger than the other, though. The stronger bird left the nest on the afternoon of April 27 and that evening I found the last baby dead in the nest. I buried that one as well. 

The Lord blessed me with the opportunity of observing this miracle of nature. I am sad that all the birds did not make it, but at least one did. 

“Let my whole being bless the LORD! LORD my God, how fantastic you are! You are clothed in glory and grandeur!”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭104:1‬ ‭CEB‬‬

“Overhead, the birds in the sky make their home, chirping loudly in the trees.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭104:12‬ ‭CEB‬‬

Praise the Lord!

One thought on “A Miracle Observed

Leave a Reply

