The Protestant Rosary: Chapter 3

The Protestant Rosary Adaptation

Like the Catholic rosary, I begin with the Apostles’ Creed as I hold the cross and continue through the Lord’s prayer and the Hail Marys to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. I believe that Mary sits with Jesus in heaven.

I continue with the decades for each day as the Catholics do; however, instead of saying the Hail Marys for each bead, I say “Lord Jesus Christ, son of the living God, pray for my friend (or other designated person).

I usually pray a decade for each person in my family, repeating the ten prayers for each member of the family: my son, his wife, and each offspring. So I pray 4 decades for each meditation for my older son’s family with two children and five decades for my young son Andy’s family since he has 3 children.

As I progress through the meditations, I include my sister’s family, special friends’ families, colleagues, and others I know who are in special need of prayer.

In emergencies I pray the whole rosary for one person. Once I have prayed the rosary for an emergency, I have been able to let go of the worry and anxiety that would otherwise consume me. I often say these prayers to myself as I walk daily. The prayers have become a way of calming myself when I am under extreme stress.

 

Leave a Reply

