The Protestant Rosary

I will share my prayer approach of 14 years on this blog chapter-by-chapter over the next few weeks. I pray it will help those who read it in your prayer life, and through it, God will change your life as He has changed mine.

Chapter 1                  Personal Testimony

 1Out of the depths I have cried to You, O Lord;

Lord, hear my voice! Let Your ears be attentive


To the voice of my supplications.

Psalm 130:1-2

My use of the Catholic rosary prayers began in a particularly dark, frightening time of my life. I felt so desperate and fearful that I prayed for God’s strength to get through each daily incident.

God initially answered my cries with a TV movie I happened to watch one evening about a mother who had given up her daughter for adoption and regretted it. The woman prayed the rosary for years for her daughter. In a somewhat miraculous way, she found her grown daughter and was reunited with her. This reminded me of how nothing is impossible with God. I began counting on that promise!

I researched the rosary prayers online, bought books and began to pray daily. I found a rosary online and purchased it. It became a tangible link to God for me in my most desperate moments. As I struggled with the emotional pain of my situation, I felt that only another woman could understand my anguish. Therefore, praying to Mary was a great comfort to me.

I learned about praying the stations of the cross and visited the Catholic church in my community to pray there as well.

My prayers weren’t a magic fix, but God worked on me as I prayed and he worked on the situations too.

As things improved, I adapted the Catholic rosary to my Protestant faith. My approach is outlined in Chapter 3. After all, Protestants believe we do not need a mediator such as a priest or Mother Mary to speak with God. We have Christ Jesus! I share this prayer approach because the Protestant rosary prayers have changed my life!

Leave a Reply

