My Battle with Blood Sugar

The battle with blood sugar has just gotten easier! After my bloodwork 4 months ago that diagnosed prediabetic levels, I began to cut back on my sugar with the use of the My Fitness Pal App (allows 54 grams of sugar daily for my weight and calorie intake). I gave up lattes at Starbucks – 33 grams of sugar! Yikes! I gave up smoothies. I gave up all cookies, cake, and candy.  I began eating a lot more protein. After a few weeks, I began sleeping better, less waking in the night.

Then a friend sent me two articles that changed everything by Dr. Michelle Schoffro Cook:

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/33-percent-of-healthy-weight-adults-have-prediabetes-do-you.html

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/diet-soda-may-actually-cause-diabetes.html

Dr. Cook points out that many healthy weight adults are prediabetic and many don’t even know.

“Some of the signs or symptoms of prediabetes include:

Excessive thirst

Severe exhaustion

Wounds that take a long time to heal

Ongoing or frequent infections, particularly those that take a long time to heal

Frequent urination

Higher than normal blood sugar levels but not high enough for a diagnosis of diabetes, or between 5.7 and 6.4 (you’ll want to get your doctor to conduct a test to determine whether you have high blood sugar levels if you have the above symptoms or others that you’re concerned about).

How to Naturally Address Prediabetes and Diabetes

Whole books could be written on the many ways to prevent or address prediabetes and diabetes, but here are a handful of strategies to get you started:
Significantly reduce your sugar consumption.

Exercise regularly (3 to 5 times per week).

Watch your antibiotic use.

Avoid diet soda like the plague. Recent research published in the medical journal Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and Metabolism found that artificial sweeteners destroy a person’s ability to regulate blood sugar, which is exactly the reason why many people drink diet soda over sugar-laced beverages. Synthetic sweeteners like aspartame could actually be contributing to the development of diabetes.

Eat a plant-based diet. Simply increase the number of fruits, vegetables, nuts, whole grains, seeds and legumes in your diet to reduce your risk of diabetes and increase your quality of life.

Dr. Michelle Schoffro Cook, PhD, DNM is an international best-selling and 20-time published book author whose works include: Be Your Own Herbalist: Essential Herbs for Health, Beauty, and Cooking (New World Library, 2016).”

So, after considering this information and knowing my blood sugar levels were at prediabetic levels, I thought, “What have I got to lose?” I cut diet coke from my diet. Now I only use Stevia which is a natural alternative to sweeten my tea. No carbonated beverages (too high in sugar). I drastically reduced my sugar consumption.

artificial-sweeteners

After several days, I hardly had any arthritis pain which before had been so overwhelming. I even woke up less often in the night because of a full bladder. I realized that just like Dr. Cook said, my body had not been processing sugar as it should. Without the artificial sweeteners and sugar, my body is functioning so much better. Now when I splurge on sugar at a birthday or holiday, I end up with much more arthritis pain.

This has been a great deterrent to binging on sugar as I am prone to. I still have a hard time accepting that the artificial sweeteners we think will reduce weight gain and calories actually could cause us to become diabetic. I challenge anyone reading this, especially those with arthritis or other pain issues,  to quit using artificial sweeteners and see if you can’t tell a big difference in the way your feel.

3 thoughts on “My Battle with Blood Sugar

Leave a Reply

