A Human Incubator

Being pregnant a second time in transition between two homes

Living apart during the week; together on the weekends

Praying for relief from all the work

Wishing I could go to bed and rest

 

Placenta Previa!?

One preganancy out of one hundred forty!

Quitting my job

Living with my husband at last

Bleeding profusely – fear!

Being hospitalized

Trying to eat and drink lying on my side, barely raising my head

Using a bedpan

Wishing for a bath

Knowing my own life is threatened

Knowing my child could be premature

Knowing our blended family needs this child

Thinking about women in my condition fifty years ago

“Dying in childbirth” takes on new meaning

Wondering if my child will live

Wondering if my child will be healthy

Me? A human incubator?

 

Going home from the emergency hospital stay

Sentenced to bed for six weeks – toilet and bathing privileges only

Setting an alarm every four hours

Taking my medicine (Yutopar) at eighty dollars a bottle

Watching my husband of less than a year cope

Watching my five year old son depend more and more on his new stepfather

Watching my family and friends’ reactions

Depending on others for meals, transportation, laundry, cleaning, shopping

Wanting all my belongings with me

Wanting to go somewhere

Wanting to wait on myself

Seeing the doctor every two weeks

Sleeping too much, eating too much, watching TV too much

Reading more than I care to

Crocheting and knitting to pass the time

Praying constantly

Crying and over-reacting to everything

Feeling alone

Wishing I could sleep soundly again

Wishing my baby was here

 

Feeling mild contractions

Entering the hospital again

Having a Ceasarean section

Rejoicing in our little boy!

Rejoicing in the pregnancy’s end

Realizing I am back to normal again

Giving thanks for my mobility

Living again!

beautiful-sleeping-newborn-baby-boy-white-blanket-photographed-against-background-photo-shows-his-beauiful-40163273

 

This experience happened 30 years ago. My son has proven a huge blessing with his wife and 3 children: two boys and a girl. Every minute I spent in bed was worth the joy of having him here with me these 30 years. God has richly blessed me and I learned so much from that confinement. When my dad was later diagnosed with colon and liver cancer during chemo treatment, I could at least relate to the limitation of his activity. God truly does work in mysterious ways!

Leave a Reply

