Generations of Stubborn

My family overflows with stubborn people, not the least of whom is me. I am blessed to be the Mammaw of 4 boys and 1 girl. The challenging child of my two was my older son. However, my younger son’s second born child shows the most stubborn nature of us all.

Yesterday morning he qualified for gummies because he used the potty. However, I did not give the number of gummies he wanted, so he got mad and took none. His angelic face can become a monster, robot, puppy, kitty, or frog at a moment’s notice. Sometimes I want to live in his world of imaginary characters.


img_2078
When he was about 8 months old, he would not allow any of us to feed him. He did not need help (even though he had not mastered handling a spoon and fork)! That did not hamper him from eating and being a chunky little guy though; we still call him piglet.

Ben has no fear no matter how many warnings or injuries he sustains, thus his nickname Boo Boo. Tuesday he did a flip from my Lazyboy directly into my face while I was sitting on the floor. I didn’t even see it coming as I was occupied with baby sister Haven.   Thankfully he wasn’t hurt and I have flexible glasses and a hard skull!

God has so blessed us with Benjamin’s imagination and generous spirit!  When he wants to share his snacks or toys, he won’t take no for an answer. Along with that stubborn nature goes persistence which is an absolute necessity for living.

I pray his stubborn nature will help him resist peer pressure in his teen years even though many days are difficult with him right now. Stubborn has served mine and my children’s generations well. I think it will serve the next generation well too.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/stubborn/

Leave a Reply

